BATANICA vs. Botanic Batana Oil - Which one should I buy?

Advertising disclosure — The Batana Report is published by BATANICA. This page compares a BATANICA product with a competing product.
Head to head · Batana oil

BATANICA vs Botanic: Under the Microscope

Both brands sell single-ingredient batana oil from La Moskitia. Both promise ninety days. We compared what each one actually lets you check — and that is where they stop looking alike.

All competitor figures on this page were taken from that brand’s own public website on the date above. Where we could not find something, we say so rather than assuming it does not exist.

Batana oil jars compared side by side

Batana oil went from unknown to everywhere in roughly eighteen months. What began as a regional oil pressed by hand in La Moskitia is now sold by dozens of brands, most of which did not exist before the trend did.

Botanic is one of the largest sellers in it. They advertise heavily, they ship within twenty-four hours, and — unlike most of this category — they sell a genuine single-ingredient product. No blends, no filler oils, no fragrance. That is more than most of their competitors can say, and it deserves to be said plainly before anything else.

BATANICA sells the same category of product at a higher price. On paper the two are close to identical: one ingredient, the same region, the same ninety-day promise, the same account of Miskito harvesters and cold pressing.

So we stopped reading the marketing — both companies write it well — and went looking for something else. What will each brand let a buyer independently verify? Here is what we found.

Side by side

What each brand puts on the label

BATANICA 100% Unrefined Batana Oil
BATANICA
100% Unrefined Batana Oil
  • 4 fl oz · 120 g, stated on the product page
  • 100% batana oil (Elaeis oleifera) — no water, fragrance or preservatives
  • Sourced in La Moskitia, Honduras
  • Tamper-evident authenticity seal on the packaging
  • QR code on the seal opens a verification page
  • 90-day money-back guarantee
BOTANIC Batana Oil
BOTANIC
Batana Oil
  • One ingredient, no fillers — stated on their page
  • Region named: La Moskitia, Honduras
  • Jar size: not stated on the product page
  • “Intertek-verified 99%+ purity” — document not published
  • No batch or jar-level verification found
  • 90-day guarantee, keep the jar

Left: the product as BATANICA lists it. Right: the competing product as its own site describes it. Both sets of claims are the brands’ own words.

Section 01 · Price

Start with the price. Then stop looking at it.

BATANICA
$49.95
Currently two jars at that price. 4 fl oz · 120 g each — $6.25 per fluid ounce across the two.
BOTANIC
£30
One-time purchase. Jar size is not stated, so cost per ounce cannot be calculated.

BATANICA is the more expensive jar at list price. We are not going to pretend otherwise.

It is also, at the time of writing, the cheaper ounce — because of the two-jar offer. What we cannot tell you is what Botanic costs per ounce, because Botanic does not publish how much oil is in the jar. Not on the product page, not in the description, not in the FAQ.

That is a real difference, and it is still a small one. Across one full hair cycle the gap between these two products is a few dollars a month. Which is exactly why price is the wrong number to be looking at.

The number that actually costs you
90 days

A jar of batana lasts most people six to eight weeks. Ninety days is one full hair cycle — the minimum honest window for judging whether anything worked.

If the oil in the jar is not what the label says, you do not lose thirty pounds. You lose the ninety days you spent finding out. And then you start the ninety days over.

That is why the rest of this comparison is about verification, and not about price.

Section 02 · The comparison

Nine things we checked. Six came back the same.

We want to be straight about this before the list: on most of what matters in this category, these two brands are genuinely comparable. The differences are narrow. They are also, we think, the ones that decide the purchase.

01

Single ingredient

BATANICA✓“100% Batana Oil (Elaeis oleifera). No fillers, no water, no fragrance, no preservatives.”
BOTANIC✓“One ingredient. That’s the formula.” Confirmed on the product page.
Both pass. In a category full of blends sold as pure oil, that is not nothing.
02

Region of origin named

BATANICA✓Sourced in La Moskitia, Honduras.
BOTANIC✓Single-origin La Moskitia, cold-pressed by Miskito harvesters.
Both name the region rather than the country. Both tell the same origin story.
03

Guarantee length

BATANICA✓90-day money-back guarantee, conditions published.
BOTANIC✓90 days, no return shipping, keep the jar. One refund per customer per product.
A tie, and a good one. Both run a full hair cycle. Both publish conditions — read them, on either site.
04

Subscription pressure

BATANICA✓One-time purchase.
BOTANIC✓“This is a one-time purchase. We never auto-enroll anyone in a subscription.”
Both clean. Worth saying, because much of this category is not.
05

Speed to the customer

BATANICAShips to the US in 5–10 days.
BOTANIC✓Ships within 24 hours. Free UK shipping over £60.
Botanic is faster to dispatch. The site we reviewed prices in GBP and quotes UK shipping, which is worth knowing if you are ordering from the US.
06

Jar size published

BATANICA✓4 fl oz · 120 g.
BOTANIC×Not stated on the product page, the description, or the FAQ.
Without a size there is no cost per ounce, and no way to know whether you are comparing like with like. This is the first row where they diverge.
07

The purity claim itself

BATANICA“100% raw, unrefined Batana Oil.”
BOTANIC✓“Intertek-verified 99%+ purity (FT-IR fingerprint vs. USP reference).”
On wording alone, Botanic makes the stronger claim. It is more specific, more technical, and it names a real testing house. Which is precisely why we went looking for the document.
08

Proof document published

BATANICA✓Every jar carries a seal that resolves to a verification page.
BOTANIC×No report, certificate, test date, reference number or lab PDF found on the product page, the homepage, or the linked science page.
We are not saying the test did not happen. We are saying we could not read it.
09

Verification tied to your jar

BATANICA✓QR code printed into a tamper-evident seal on the packaging.
BOTANIC×None found.
This is the row the whole page turns on. See below.
The finding

The certificate you can’t read

Botanic’s product page carries a specific, technical, serious-sounding claim: Intertek-verified 99%+ purity, FT-IR fingerprint against a USP reference.

We took it seriously enough to go looking for the document. It is not on the product page. It is not on the homepage. It is not on the science page they link to. There is no report number, no test date, no batch reference and no PDF anywhere we could find.

We are not accusing anyone of anything. Large brands often hold real test data they never publish. But an unpublished certificate and no certificate look identical from where the customer is standing.

A lab report is about their oil. A seal is about your jar.

And here is the part that matters more than whether the document exists.

FT-IR fingerprinting is a real method. It passes infrared light through an oil and compares the resulting spectrum against a known reference. It is good at answering one question well: is this the oil it claims to be?

But it tests a sample. One sample, at one moment, from one drum.

Batana is a small-volume agricultural product from a single region, pressed in batches, from harvests that vary year to year. A certificate from a test run at some unstated point tells you about the oil that was in that lab. It tells you nothing about the jar in your hand.

BATANICA’s answer is smaller and considerably more boring: a tamper-evident seal on the packaging with the logo printed into it, and a QR code that opens a verification page.

We want to be precise about what that does and does not prove, because overselling it would be the same mistake. It does not replace laboratory testing. It will not tell you the fatty acid profile of your oil. It is not a lab report.

What it does is answer the only question you can actually act on at the kitchen counter: did this jar come from the brand whose name is on it, and has anyone opened it before you.

Section 03 · Where it comes from

Both brands tell the same origin story

La Moskitia is a real place, batana is really pressed there by hand, and the Miskito communities who do it are real people. Every serious brand in this category tells some version of that story, and for most of them it is broadly true of the region.

It is not automatically true of the jar. A story about a region is not a claim about a specific batch, and there is no point in the supply chain where the story alone stops anything from being cut, swapped or refilled.

That is the entire reason a per-jar check exists. Not because the origin story is false, but because the origin story cannot be verified by the person paying for it.

Batana oil production in Honduras

Batana processing in La Moskitia, Honduras.

Section 04 · Expectations

What each brand tells you to expect

Botanic’s site leads with scale: “669,000+ Happy Customers” and a 4.5 out of 5 rating on the homepage. We could not find where that figure is compiled from or what period it covers.

BATANICA publishes a dated timeline instead — the same person at day 1, day 45 and day 90 — and tells buyers to judge at the end of it rather than at week two.

Neither brand can promise you a result, and any brand in this category that does is telling you something it cannot know. What a brand can do is tell you when to look and what to look at. Only one of these two does.

Day 1
Day 1
Day 45
Day 45
Day 90
Day 90

BATANICA’s published ninety-day timeline. Individual results vary and no brand on this page can tell you what yours will be.

Section 05 · What you get

What you actually end up with

BATANICA — $49.95
  • Two jars at the current offer — 8 fl oz · 240 g total
  • Tamper-evident scannable seal on each
  • 90-day money-back guarantee
  • One-time purchase, no subscription
  • Shampoo and a liquid version available if you want the routine rather than the jar
BOTANIC — £30
  • One jar of batana oil
  • Size not stated
  • Ships within 24 hours
  • 90-day guarantee, keep the jar
  • One refund per customer per product

Two jars is not a bonus. Two jars is ninety days. It is roughly the amount of oil it takes to actually run the window the guarantee is written for — which is the part most people in this category run out of before they get an answer.

Section 06 · Buyers

People who had already tried something else

★★★★★

“I do not write reviews often. But this is finally the real Batana, after so many I tried.”

Semaja · verified buyer
★★★★★

“6 years of braids and my edges been fighting for their life 😭 tried castor, rosemary, all of it. 7 weeks in and they actually filling in.”

Keshia · USA · verified buyer
★★★★★

“That patch been smooth for YEARS 😩 I started rubbing this in every single night and around month 3 there’s soft little hairs.”

Yvette · USA · verified buyer
★★★★★

“4 months postpartum and I was pulling handfuls out every single morning 😩 wanted something natural since I’m still feeding.”

Rosa · ES · verified buyer
★★★★★

“I can only rate 5/5 stars. It has such a nice coffee smell, and applying it on my hair is so easy.”

Trixie · verified buyer
★★★★★

“Woke it for my hair, kept it for the beard. Wiry beard and the skin under it flaked non stop. Itching gone in about a week.”

Mihlali · ZA · verified buyer

Quoted verbatim from BATANICA’s own product page, where the oil currently shows 4.9 out of 5 across 1,250+ reviews. None of them name a competing brand. We did not go looking for any that did, and we would not print them if we had — a review that conveniently names the brand being compared is the least trustworthy kind there is.

Section 07 · Summary

Everything on one screen

  BATANICA BOTANIC
Price $49.95 — two jars at the current offer £30 (approx. $38)
Jar size 4 fl oz · 120 g ×Not stated
Cost per fl oz $6.25 at the current offer ×Cannot be calculated
Ingredients 100% batana oil 100% batana oil
Region named La Moskitia, Honduras La Moskitia, Honduras
Purity claim 100% raw, unrefined Intertek-verified 99%+
Proof document published ✓Per-jar verification page ×None found
Tamper-evident seal ✓Yes ×None found
Guarantee 90 days 90 days
Purchase type One-time One-time
Shipping 5–10 days to the US Within 24 hours · GBP pricing, UK shipping
Reviews shown on site 4.9 / 5 · 1,250+ 4.5 / 5 · “669,000+”, source not stated
BATANICA
Price
$49.95 — two jars at the current offer
Jar size
4 fl oz · 120 g
Cost per fl oz
$6.25 at the current offer
Ingredients
100% batana oil
Region named
La Moskitia, Honduras
Purity claim
100% raw, unrefined
Proof document published
✓Per-jar verification page
Tamper-evident seal
✓Yes
Guarantee
90 days
Purchase type
One-time
Shipping
5–10 days to the US
Reviews shown on site
4.9 / 5 · 1,250+
BOTANIC
Price
£30 (approx. $38)
Jar size
×Not stated
Cost per fl oz
×Cannot be calculated
Ingredients
100% batana oil
Region named
La Moskitia, Honduras
Purity claim
Intertek-verified 99%+
Proof document published
×None found
Tamper-evident seal
×None found
Guarantee
90 days
Purchase type
One-time
Shipping
Within 24 hours · GBP pricing, UK shipping
Reviews shown on site
4.5 / 5 · “669,000+”, source not stated

All competitor figures taken from that brand’s own public website on August 20, 2026. Prices, sizes, stock status and guarantee terms change without notice.

If you’re going to spend ninety days on this

Both of these are single-ingredient oils from the same region. Buy either one and you are already ahead of most of this category, which is selling blends and calling them pure.

The difference is what happens if you get the wrong jar. With one of them you find out in ninety days. With the other you can check in ninety seconds, before you open it.

See the current BATANICA offer
  • 4 fl oz · 120 g per jar
  • Scannable authenticity seal
  • 90-day money-back guarantee
  • One-time purchase
The Batana Report

Who publishes this. The Batana Report is published by BATANICA, which sells one of the products compared on this page. We state that here, in the header of every page, and in the imprint, because a comparison you cannot trace back to its author is worth nothing.

How we compared. Every figure attributed to a competing brand on this page was taken from that brand’s own public website on August 20, 2026, and is quoted or paraphrased as it appeared there. Prices, sizes, guarantee terms and stock status change without notice — check the source before you rely on anything here. Where we could not find a piece of information, we say we could not find it rather than assuming it does not exist.

What this page is not. Nothing here is medical advice, and nothing here is a promise of a result. Batana oil is a cosmetic product. Individual results vary, and no brand on this page — including BATANICA — can tell you what yours will be. Trademarks and brand names belong to their respective owners and are used here for identification and comparison only.